SCWAY Cornell/Cumberland Valley, PA Trip


2012 SCWAY Cali National Team Singlet

2012 SCWAY Cali National Team Singlet

“New York- just like I pictured it-skyscrapers-and everything”

I’m super excited about leaving for New York tomorrow.  It’s my first time on the East Coast and I’m going as a member of the 2012 SCWAY California National Team!  We have a very tough team and we will be battling top kids from Pennsylvania, New York, and the Michigan MYWAY National Team.

Beside wrestling, we’re going to have a lot of fun checking out NYC!  We wake up early on Friday and head to Manhattan to see Times Square, World Trade Center, Empire State Building, Brookyn Bridge and the Statue of Liberty!  We are also going to take pictures with the Bull on Wall Street.  Later that day we leave New York City to Mechanicsburg, PA for weigh-ins.  On Saturday we wrestle in the Cumberland Invitational which is a Pennsylvania 100 top youth event. After wrestling in the event we head to Ithaca, NY Saturday night.

The coolest part of the trip is on Sunday, when we wrestle at the NYWAY Big Red Kickoff Tournament at Cornell University. The event will be run at the same time as the Big Red take on Lehigh on the center mat.  It will be my first time to see a D-1 wrestling tournament live and I’ll actually be on the mat!  NY Wrestling News wrote about us coming!

After the event we head back to New York City and on Monday we will check out the Central Park Zoo – I’ll be looking for Alex, Marty and the Penguins!  Then we’ll have lunch in Little Italy and head over to Broadway before going to JKF.

I’m very thankful to SCWAY and my parents for letting me go and to my teachers for giving me most of my homework over the break so I don’t get too far behind from missing three days of school.  Stay tuned – I’ll update the blog when I get back!

~ by kidfighter on January 4, 2012.

Leave a comment