AACC Japan


With Coach Abe at Abe Ani Combat Club Omori

I had to punch myself to make sure I wasn’t dreaming! After wanting to train in Japan for so long, I was actually at the Abe Ani Combat Club in Omori Japan!  For about six weeks I stayed at my grandparents home in Chiba.  The gym was about an hour and thirty minutes from their house, but I went four times a week anyway.

Coach Abe and Emi

AACC is run by vetaran MMA fighter, Coach Hiroyuki Abe, who is a black belt in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, judo, and karate.  He’s been in the cage with Urijah Faber and fought in Shooto, Pride FC, Deep, K-1, King of the Cage, Shootboxing, and Cage Rage. Even though he could kill you in a heartbeat, he is one of the nicest, gentlest people you will ever meet.  The gym has a true family atmosphere and tons of kids train there along side pro-fighters like Caol Uno and Josh Barnett.  My three year old sister would run on the mat during warm-ups, but instead of getting mad he would play with her.  They have kids there as young as three training wrestling!

AACC no Tomodachi!

I already knew some of the kids at AACC, because during spring break five of them came to San Diego.  Every kid at the gym was an amazing wrestler.  They went to Japan Nationals two weeks after I came and six kids took first, one kid got second, and one kid took third.  Besides training really hard, we did fun stuff, like the time we ran from the gym to the city pool in the middle of the blazing summer through the streets of Tokyo!  Although the run was long, it was worth it, we got to hang out at the pool for five hours!

At the pool in Omori

I made a bunch of cool friends at AACC and it was a great experience for me to be coached and have to communicate in Japanese!  After training, we could take a shower and then jump into the ofuro (traditional Japanese bath) and goof around. It wasn’t all fun and games either.  These guys train very hard, and if the coaches think you’re slacking – BAM! – you’ll get smacked with a shinai.

Megumi "Mega Megu" Fujii

Another highlight was being around the best female fighter of all time, Megumi “Mega Megu” Fujii.  I respect her skills so much! She is just as cool a person as she is an amazing fighter!  I hope she will come back to the USA and fight in Bellator again.

I had a great time in Japan this summer mostly because of AACC!  I really miss everyone there and can’t wait to go back.

~ by kidfighter on September 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
