Training with Stephen Abas


With Coach Abas at The Arena

Early February 2009 Stephen Abas had a clinic at Poway HS.  I couldn’t pass up an opportunity to learn from an Olympic Silver medalist and one of the 15th greatest college wrestlers eva!  He was named to the NCAA 75th Anniversary Team along with Tom Brands, Dan Gable, John Smith, Yojiro Uetake, Lee Kemp, Kurt Angle, Cael Sanderson, and a few others.

It was a fantastic clinic where we learned the Iranian and a few other excellent moves.  As luck would have it, Coach Abas decided to get into MMA and my Sensei Jeff Clark became his manager!  As he’s always done, Sensei Jeff helped me out by arranging some private lessons with Coach Abas.  Coach Abas was training for his MMA career at The Arena, probably the top MMA gym in San Diego, with guys like Joe Duarte, KJ Noons, Evangelista “Cyborg” Santos, Rani Yahya, Rich “Super” Power and a bunch of other cool fighters train.

I was fortunate enough to have a couple of private lessons with Coach Abas and he taught me some great moves.  He showed me his awesome single leg and I still watch the tapes my dad made of our sessions.  In case you missed it, Coach Abas was a four-time Division I All-American in his time at Fresno State University with a ridiculous record of 144-4.  What is even crazier  to me is that he finished his high school career with a 190-10 record , was a three-time state champ, and holds the national season takedown record (406) and national career takedown record (1,246)!  Coach Abas was super nice to me and I know he will be a great MMA fighter!  He’s already 2-0.

~ by kidfighter on March 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
