CAGWA Wrestling Tournament


Hendo

Meeting Dan Henderson

On Sunday, December 12, 2009, I went to L.A. with my team, No Mercy School of Wrestling, and wrestled at the CAGWA tournament.  CAGWA stands for California Age Group Wrestling Association and it covers Covina, El Monte, Fontana, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Norwalk, Phelan, San Bernardino, San Dimas, Santa Ana, Temecula, Ventura, Victorville, and surrounding areas.  The tournaments are tougher than the ones we have locally, so we went there to test ourselves against the best competition.

My first match I won 14-0.  My second match, I wrestled a National Champion and lost 12-3.  He’s considered the best wrestler in the country for his age and this was the first time I actually scored on him without just being cut.  He’s an amazing wrestler and raises the bar for everyone in his bracket.  I feel very lucky to be able to compete with him!  I came back from that loss pinning my next opponent, putting me in the semi-finals for 3rd and 4th.  I lost against the champ’s training partner, who’s a tough wrestler himself, in a very close match.  I’ve beat him once and now he’s beat me twice.   My wrestling team did a lot better than me in terms of placing.  Most of my team ether took 1st or 2nd, and everyone placed!  Hopefully we will do even better next week.

Even though I hate to lose, my coach was there to see my mistakes and help me improve.  Coach Ruben worked on many of the stuff I did wrong the week after the tournament.

The bright spot of the day was meeting Dan Henderson the ex-Pride Champion who is now fighting in Strikeforce.  He was also in some big tournament that they call the Olympics or something.  He was very cool and friendly, just like he was on UFN 17.  Can’t wait to see him fight Fedor!  His young son is now wrestling and he was up there to coach him.

It was a good day to wrestle, but I need to work harder!

~ by kidfighter on December 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
